Loading site-loader
December 5, 2016

Rake, Beat Bugs bag AACTA awards


Don Groves / C21

Drama series Rake, comedy No Activity, children’s show Beat Bugs and the documentary Hitting Home were among the prize winners in the TV awards presented today by the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA).

Pubcaster ABC’s Rake, produced by Essential Media & Entertainment, was the only dual winner, with Peter Duncan named best director of a TV drama or comedy, and for best sound.

Streaming service Stan was acknowledged for its commission No Activity, the improvised comedy produced by Jungle, with Patrick Brammall winning best performance in a comedy. Screentime/Emu Creek Pictures’ Wolf Creek, also from Stan, landed Geoffrey Hall the cinematography prize.

Best children’s series went to Beat Bugs, an animated series featuring renditions of the Beatles songs by various artists. It was created by Josh Wakely’s prodco Grace: A Storytelling Company, Vancouver-based Thunderbird and Beyond Screen Production.

Netflix, which acquired the show after it screened on the Seven Network’s 7Two, has already commissioned a second season.

Journalist Sarah Ferguson’s Hitting Home, which was commissioned by the ABC and examined how domestic violence can lead to murder, was best TV documentary.

Anna Broinowski was awarded best direction in documentary for Hanson: Please Explain, from prodco Sense & Centsability. The SBS show profiled Pauline Hanson, the controversial leader of the extreme-right One Nation party.

The best visual effects or animation prize went to Joe Bauer, Steve Kullback, Glenn Melenhorst and Ineke Majoor for their work on Game of Thrones – Battle of the Bastards, which screened in Oz on Foxtel’s showcase.

Celia Pacquola was named best guest or supporting actress in a drama for the ABC’s The Beautiful Lie, produced by Endemol Shine Australia’s John Edwards.

Damian Herriman was judged best guest or supporting actor in a drama for Matchbox Pictures’ Secret City, commissioned by Foxtel’s showcase.

The main AACTA awards for film and TV will be presented on Wednesday night, telecast on the Seven Network.