Loading site-loader
January 16, 2018

Thunderbird Receives 22 Canadian Screen Award Nominations

Animation / News

News Release/ Thunderbird Entertainment 

The Canadian Screen Awards nominations were announced at a press conference in Toronto today. Vancouver’s Thunderbird Entertainment received 22 nominations across the companies.

The Kim’s Convenience team received a total of 12 nominations, including Best Comedy Series, and Best Performance by an Actor and Actress in a Comedy Series. In the film category, Never Steady, Never Still (Canada/UK) and The Man Who Invented Christmas (UK) distributed by Thunderbird Releasing received a total of 10 nominations.

Great Pacific Media’s  Heavy Rescue: 401 was nominated in the Best Writing in a Factual Program category and Atomic Cartoons Beat Bugs was nominated for Best Animated Series. Max and Ruby, an Atomic service production, also received three nominations.

Winners will be announced in Toronto during Canadian Screen Week (March 5th – 11th). We are proud sponsors of the Canadian Screen Awards again this year.

Below is the full list of nominations from across the Thunderbird Group:


  •  Best Writing, Factual

Todd Serotiuk, Catharine Parke – Anything Can Happen


  • Best Animated Series


  • Best Comedy Series
  • Best Lead Actor, Comedy

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee

  • Best Lead Actress, Comedy

Andrea Bang

  •  Best Lead Actress, Comedy

Jean Yoon

  • Best Supporting or Guest Actor, Comedy

Andrew Phung – Cardboard Jung, Resting Place

  •  Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy

Nicole Power – Date Night, Business Award

  •  Best Direction, Comedy  

Aleysa Young – Date Night

  •  Best Photography, Comedy

Fraser Brown – Cardboard Jung

  •  Best Picture Editing, Comedy

Aren Hansen – Date Night

  • Best Writing, Comedy

Matt Kippen – Business Award

  • Best Writing, Comedy

Anita Kapila – Resting Place

  •  Best Achievement in Casting

Deidre Bowen


  • Best Motion Picture 
  • Original Screenplay

Kathleen Hepburn

  • Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Shirley Henderson

  • Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design

Sophie Jarvis, Elizabeth Cairns

  • Achievement in Cinematography

Norm Li

  • Achievement in Editing

Simone Smith

  • Achievement in Music – Original Score

Ben Fox

  • Achievement in Overall Sound

Matt Drake, Nate Evans, Christopher O’Brien

For the full list of nominees, you can visit the Canadian Screen Awards website here.

Media Inquiries:

Nicola Pender
Director of Communications