Loading site-loader
July 5, 2016

$20,000 Radcliffe Foundation prize to go to short film about refugee crisis


The Province

VANCOUVER – Sophie Gregoire Trudeau, Sarah McLachlan and Atom Egoyan are among the jury members for a new Canadian film prize concerning the global refugee crisis.

The $20,000 prize comes from the Radcliffe Foundation, in collaboration with the Vancouver International Film Festival.

Organizers say it will go to a “call-to-action” film “that inspires, engages and empowers Canadians to take action on the global refugee crisis.”

The winner will be chosen through a juried and public vote.

Other jury members include Louise Arbour, Craig Kielburger, Ivan Fecan, Frank Giustra, Nicolas Moyer and Ryan Holmes.

Short films, which can be up to 60 seconds in length, can be submitted at refugeestories.viff.org.

The winning video will be screened during this year’s Vancouver film fest, which kicks off Sept. 29.