Loading site-loader
November 16, 2015

’22 Minutes,’ Ivan Fecan get special Canadian screen awards


Times Columnist

TORONTO – The CBC-TV comedy “This Hour Has 22 Minutes” and former Bell Media president Ivan Fecan are among the recipients of special Canadian Screen Awards.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television announced early winners of 2016’s weeklong celebration, including digital media maven Ana Serrano, former CBC producer Mark Starowicz, screenwriter Karen Walton and the charity Performing Arts Lodges, also known as PAL Canada.

Fecan will be the focus of an Academy board of directors’ tribute for a long and varied career that includes stints at CBC Radio, CBC-TV, Citytv, NBC and CTV. He is currently executive chair of Thunderbird Films, comprised of multiple production and distribution companies.

“This Hour Has 22 Minutes” will receive an icon award while Serrano, chief digital officer of the Canadian Film Centre, will get a digital media trailblazing award.

Starowicz, the visionary behind the documentary series “Canada: A People’s History” as well as “As It Happens,” “Sunday Morning” and “The Journal,” will get the Gordon Sinclair award for broadcast journalism.

Walton, whose credits include the film “Ginger Snaps” and TV series “Orphan Black” and “Flashpoint,” will get the Margaret Collier writing award, and the humanitarian award goes to PAL Canada, which provides services to senior and disadvantaged members of the professional artists’ community.

The awards will be presented as part of Canadian Screen Week, running March 7 to March 13, 2016.